h1

My thoughts on election 2008

March 9, 2008

I was never a big fan of politics.

When i was young, I was introduced to the parliamentary system and how it was run. However, I couldn’t be bothered because things like corruption, bribery and poverty meant nothing to a kid like me who had wonderful parents who earned enough money to provide me with everything I needed.

Till recently when I came to Scotland i began to read up more about happenings in Malaysia. Its kinda funny how back home my dad will used to force me to read newspaper, and despite the newspaper on the coffee table every morning I was only interested in the comics.

Over here, I read up news on alternative sources of media – Media not controlled by the government. That was when I started realizing how bad things were back home. I have been diligently following the scene for quite sometime and today, for the first time in my life, I felt the significance of the elections. (I have been refreshing the election updates every 5 minutes).

People from all over the country have spoken, regardless of race, gender or religion. I am happy with the outcome. A new era has begun. I can’t wait to see how things have changed once I get back. Hopefully for the better. For a better future for all of us.

Leave a Reply

