h1

Ramblings

July 13, 2008

17 more days till i go home. Sounds cliche but time really flies (when you’re having fun?). I can picture myself sitting in Kayu drinking milo ais while my friends ramble away about football 🙂

But now i’m faced with a very important question. How long should it be before I start work?

Two of my housemates have already applied and got their interviews.

Should I chill for 2 months or so before starting work or should I apply asap so I can start work?

On one hand, I know if start work immediately I can safely say that I will be working for the rest of my life.

On the other hand, if I delay too long my brains will probably start rotting and there’s also that possibility of me being sent to Kelantan because I didn’t apply early enough and all the hospitals are full.

But then again,  theres so much I want to do when I get back… Catch up with my highschool friends, college mates, play some dota, foos, checkout the IMU cup, have a Malaysian food trip.

Decisions, decisions…

Maybe I should take one month so settle everything I have to at home and then start work. 2 Months seems a wee bit long.

What would you do, dear readers?

5 comments

  1. I’d say, take your time and don’t rush.

    Once you start working, it is almost impossible for you to get a month’s, okay even a week of break from work. It is very depressing even though you have the money flowing in. You’ll start to think, where can I spend all these cash!!? Holidays are scarce and you’ll find yourselves looking forward to weekends more than ever.

    Anyway, people who apply later (like, 2 or 3 months after the first batch have started working) have a better chance of getting their desired state. At least that is the case for my batchmates.

    Decide wisely. 🙂


  2. Thanks for the advice Elyne, I will take your words into consideration. =)


  3. I totally agree with Elyne. No point rushing into it.
    So what if you get KJ/PJ. After the completion of the first year they might just throw you somewhere else for the next 3 years.


  4. Elyne and Milocup are correct.

    Ah, why rush into the hell that is government service?

    However, if you foresee yourself becoming extremely bitter and frustrated at the thought of finishing the pre-reg year later than your peers as well as finishing service later than your peers then please start your service as soon as possible.

    Frustrated pharmie + govt service hell = potentially dead patients, lots of weeping, rending of lab coats and expensive lawsuits.

    Cheers.


  5. i would say chill for a month 1st.. do wat u like then u start ur job.
    once started, no more turning bac. uve gotta work for the rest of ur life. so tink carefully..
    wat selene said was true.. who knows where they gonna throw u to after 1 year. u get to apply where u want, but decision is still on the gov..
    pray hard u dun kena kelantan or terengganu then.



Leave a Reply

