h1

All I want for Christmas… Is a body temperature of 36.9C.

December 23, 2008

Once again, I find myself waking up in a puddle of sweat.

For the past 5 days, I have been struggling with Acute Tonsilitis. The inflammation of the tonsils. My throat is so inflamed that each time I swallow my heart beat goes up a few notches instinctively to face the excruciating pain that awaits me. This is particularly annoying as we as humans tend to swallow our own saliva every few seconds to keep our throats moist.

Thankfully, somehow I have managed to condition myself to minimize this reflex swallowing action.

Things get worse at night, especially once the effects of Panadol™ wear thin. My body starts to shiver despite the extra jacket and the next thing you know, my hand starts trembling so fast, like a drug addict, deprived of his coke. With shaky hands I force 2 pills down my throat, bunker up in bed and pray that the night ends quickly.

Antibiotics, Pain Killers, Grandma’s Secret Concoction… I’ve tried it all. As a pharmacist, I strongly believe that if theres a drug for a disease, it can be cured. Even though its my 5th day battling the scourge, I’ve complete faith that I will be better soon. I bet my job on it.

Leave a Reply

