h1

Work related post

January 12, 2009

I’m not big on categories but I just added one – work,  for the heck of it coz I know i’ll be posting alot of these kind posts from now on.

So lately i’ve been fiddling in the Cytotoxic Drug Reconstitution department (CDR). Cyclowhat??  In short, I prepare anti-cancer drugs to be used by patients on chemotherapy.

But its not as simple as it sounds. The process begins when I first  receive a request from a doctor for a chemo drug for a patient. Based on the patient’s details, I then calculate the accurate amount of cancer drug to be prepared into solution form to be administered to the patient.

Once calculations are done, I then go up to the sterile room where the drugs are prepared. I then hop into my spacesuit, consisting of – jumpsuit, face mask, hair cap, booties, glove layer #1, glover layer #2, crotch protector, and protective outer gown.

Photo by fotosearch.com

I’m then fed the equipment and raw cancer drugs to be prepared through a sterile vent which leads to another room where the “runners” carefully choose the items for me to work with. The work is done in a well lit, sterile, suction ventilated cabinet which has to be wiped down before and after each session.

This work is serious stuff. I must be careful enough not to let any cancer drugs leak or spill from the bottles for 2 good reasons.

1. It is very harmful to health upon contact. Here are a few things the drugs can do to you – make you pee blood, lose your hair, make you very sick, destroy your organs and also prevent you from reproducing. Hence, the heavy armor and tight procedures.

2. Cost. I once wasted a vial of anti-cancer drug which costs RM500. Sorry Tax-payers!!

So after the drugs are done I send them through the sterile vent back to the runners so they can pack and label the drugs. There you have it, another day in the amazing life of khaiyong.

2 comments

  1. wah this sounds lk the sterile lab v did in sem6 ? wif the spacesuit attire ? hahahaha
    have fun ya ~


  2. seeing as how we probably pay more tax than our patients, we’ll probably be the one’s who’ll kill you for wasting that vial! lol kidding….



Leave a Reply

