h1

Kulai Adventure

March 4, 2009

Everybody wants to do something crazy every now and then. I’ll get to that in awhile. But first…

We were informed by our head last week that we had to attend a seminar in JB over the weekend introducing us to our job (even though some of us have already been around for half a year). So we ‘ll made plans for the coming weekend (meet up imu mates, makan, cheong-k, dagei etc) and last minute we were told that the seminar has been moved to KULAI.

Omfg Kulai. It first thought it was some kampung ulu-ish place worst than Muar. Upon arrival, we gave a sigh of relief as the place wasn’t too shabby for a small town. It had clean hotels (and really dirty ones e.g ‘hotel happiness’) So on Friday night we just mamaked and went to bed early for the next day.

It was great meeting up with all our IMU mates. There was almost 20 of us posted to Johor. I also had the oppurtunity to meet other Johor Pharmacists. That being said, the lecture was long and boring. The big bosses tried to scare us and the small bosses did the same by showing us how much requirements we had to meet in the year, which mostly applied to JB pharmacist, thank goodness im in Muar.

So at night we had a huge tai-chow with the IMU gang. After that, us muar pharmacists decided to hangout at the local cafe as there were some singers playing music and singing chinese emo songs ala Halo Cafe style.

So a guy was playing the guitar while accompanied by 2 young girls who had amazing voices. To be honest I was quite mesmerized by their singing. I seldom get the chance to visit halo-cafeish places u see. Anyway, for some reason I decided that I wanted to make friends with them. So during the intermission I just walked up to their table and sat down and starting talking to them. Yup, it was totally random, but luckily they were really friendly. We chatted for awhile and when I brought up that I was also a fan of chinese emo songs and played the guitar, they had this crazy idea of asking me to go up and play. I hesitated for awhile and then i thought to myself ‘fuck it, this is Kulai. Nobody is going to remember me after this. What have I got to lose?’

So yeah. This is one of the craziest things I’ve done in my life. Randomly walking up to strangers and then going up to perform guitar in front of Kulai-ians. Well, i’m glad I did it, it felt amazing, and I made new friends in a small town called Kulai =)

I’m going to share the video here as well.

5 comments

  1. wa pro
    eh learn dis song
    blind-lifehouse
    dam nice
    cheers


  2. hey that was awesome! finally an opportunity to show off your guitar skills!


  3. i was waiting for ur backup vocals


  4. very well done! NAIS! i dig emo songs too!
    lets go to redbox and cry our hearts out. lol


  5. hmm.. somehow i bumped into ur blog.. this is the performance u said.. haha. not bad wei!! no wonder u wanna go Halo cafe.. =P



Leave a comment